Hunter bypassed for Coach of the Year

Dale Hunter with OHL Coach of the Year Andre Tourigny at the World Juniors.

Despite leading the London Knights to a coronavirus-shortened Western Conference title, Oil Springs’ Dale Hunter was not named OHL Coach of the Year this season.
The award goes to Ottawa 67’s head coach Andre Tourigny who led the 67’s to a league-best 50 wins over the course of the 2019-20 campaign.
Hunter, and the Knights, registered 46 victories.
The OHL does not release overall voting results of its awards, so it’s not known where Hunter finished in the voting.
Tourigny was an assistant coach to Hunter with the gold-medal winning Canadian entry at the World Junior Hockey Championships earlier this year in the Czech Republic.
Hunter is a three-time winner of the OHL Coach of the Year; the latest coming 11 years ago.
He was also named CHL Coach of the Year following the 2003-04 season.