The polls are open for the provincial election


Today is the day Ontarians choose a new provincial government.

Across the province and in Petrolia and Central Lambton Elections Ontario has set up polling stations so voters can decide whether they will return Premier Kathleen Wynne and her Liberals to power or elect an entirely new government.

In the Sarnia-Lambton riding, voters have five choices, Conservative Bob Bailey, Liberal Anne Marie Gillis, the NDP’s Brian White, Green Candidate Kevin Shaw and Libertarian Andrew Falby.

Voters in Lambton-Kent-Middlesex – a riding which encompasses the municipalities of Brooke-Alvinston and Dawn-Euphemia – there is a lot more choice; eight candidates are vying for the MPP’s job – Conservative Monte McNaughton, Liberal Mike Radan, NDP Joe Hill, James Armstrong of the Green Party, Dave Durnin of the Freedom Party, Marinus Vander Vloet of the Family Coalition Party, the Liberatarians Matt Willson, and Bob Lewis of the None of the Above Party.

If advance polls are any indication, the voter turnout may not be strong this year. Elections Ontario says 566,845 people across the province cast ballots during the seven days of advance polling, a six per cent drop from the last provincial election’s advance poll.

In Sarnia-Lambton, 4,428 votes were cast early; 5,153 in Lambton-Kent-Middlesex.

The 2011 had a record low turnout of just under 48 per cent.

However, there were three extra days of advance polling in 2011.

In order to vote, you can bring the voter registration card you received in the mail and one piece of identification.

If you have lost that card, you can still vote by bringing two pieces of identification including one with your address and a photo id to the polling station.

Polls are open from 9 am to 9 pm and look for results of the election that night on The Independent’s website