Petrolia councillor race shaping up


Petrolia has its first candidates for councillor and they’re people who know their way around town hall well.

Current councillor, Ross O’Hara, and former councillor, Liz Welsh, have both filed to run this October.

Councillors Joel Field and Don Welten also submitted their papers to run for another term as councillor.

Petrolia’s mayor’s race also has two candidates, incumbent Brad Loosley and former administrator Richard Poore.

In Plympton-Wyoming, three people have also filed to become councillors. Both Mike Vasey and Bob Woolvett who currently sit on council have filed in a bid to regain their seats. Mike Thompson, the director of operations in Petrolia, will try a second time for a council seat. He ran in the 2018 election.

The race for mayor is currently between Deputy Mayor Muriel Wright and Councillor Gary Atikinson. Netty McEwen is the sole candidate for deputy mayor.

In Enniskillen, only two nominations have been filed. Judy Krall and Chad Burke are hoping to regain their councillor’s seat.

There have been no new nominations for the races in Warwick and Brooke-Alvinston.

The final date for people to file nomination papers with their municipal clerk is Aug. 16.