Oil Springs and Enniskillen councils to be acclaimed as municipal election nominations close



An earlier version of this story incorrectly noted there were not enough nominees to fill the vacancies on Oil Springs. The Independent apologizes for the error.

The municipal election in at least two municipalities in Central Lambton appear to be over while others are just heating up.
The deadline to file for municipal council elections has now closed. And in Oil Springs and Enniskillen, unofficially, council will be acclaimed.
In Oil Springs, father and son Ian and Adam Veen both submitted papers to run for council – Ian for mayor, Adam for councillor. Rounding out council will be incumbents Matt Strangway, Larry Wagner and newcomer Connie McFadden.
In Ennskillen, Kevin Marriot will be at he helm for another four years, with incumbents Mary Lynne McCallum, Wally Van Dun and Judy Krall returning. Chad Burke – who was actively opposing wind turbines in 2014 – has also filed for a councillor position.
Municipal clerks are in the process of going over all the paper work and will acclaim candidates July 30.
In Dawn Euphemia – Al Broad is the only candidate for mayor – seven people running for four councillor positions including long-time councillors Bill Bilton and Leslea Williams. NFU-O President Emery Huszka is also on the list
The ballot will be long in Brooke-Alvinston. Four are running for mayor so far – Tom Scott is the latest edition as Mayor Don McGugan retires. Nine people running for four council spots – many from Inwood where the fire department issue has raised concern
Lonny Napper will be acclaimed mayor in Plympton-Wyoming. Ben Dekker and Muriel Wright want the deputy mayor’s seat. Nine running are for five councillor spots. Longtime politician Don Nelson not the list nominations list.
It will be a three person race for mayor in Petrolia with Liz Welsh joining Bob Maniuk and Brad Loosley in the race Thursday. Businessman Brian Dunlop added his name to the list of nine running for six council spots. All incumbents are in except Tim Brown – who is moving to St. Clair Township.
In St. Clair Township both Mayor Steve Arnold and Deputy Mayor Pete Gilliland have challengers – Councillor Jeff Agar is vying for the mayor’s chair along with two others and Steve Miller the deputy. There will be a race for the seats in Ward One with five people looking for three seats. In Ward two – the candidates are acclaimed.
In Warwick, John Couwenberg and Jackie Rombouts are in the running to replace the retiring Todd Case as mayor. There are five people in the running for the four councillor seats.