Gary Atkinson succeeds Lonny Napper in Plympton-Wyoming


Gary Atkinson is the new mayor of Plympton-Wyoming.

The mayor’s position became vacant when Mayor Lonny Napper announced his retirement after decades at the helm of Plympton-Wyoming.

Atkinson beat Tim Wilkins by 200 votes, reaping 1458 votes to Wilkins’ 1215. Muriel Wright was a distant third with 378.

Alex Boughen, Kristin Rodrigues, John van Klaveren, Mike Vasey and Bob Woolvet are the next councillors. Vasey garnered the most votes with 1828 ballots cast.