A lot of familiar faces as the deadline to run for municipal council approaches


Barring any late August surprises, it appears many communities in Central Lambton will see a lot of the same faces around the municipal council table.

With just days before the deadline to file papers to run in the Oct. 24 election, most municipalities have only a handful of new people running with the some communities barely able to get enough people to fill the chairs around the table.

As of Tuesday in Petrolia, two people – Brad Loosley and Richard Poore – are running to be mayor. Loosley is the incumbent, Poore is a newcomer to politics although he was an administrator with the town until his retirement.
Most of the current councillors are seeking re-election including Grant Purdy, who filed his nomination papers Tuesday. Former councillor Liz Welsh is also running. There are twp political newcomers nominated – Shalen Hunter and Bill Clark who has been part of committees of Petrolia council

Incumbent Councillor Don Welten planned to seek re-election however withdrew his papers this morning citing health reasons. “It has been my pleasure to serve the people of Petrolia,” he told The Independent in an email.

In Plympton-Wyoming, it appears Netty McEwen will be acclaimed as deputy mayor. At press time, the long-time councillor and former administrator was the only person vying for the position.

There is a race for mayor with Deputy Mayor Muriel Wright and Councillor Gary Atkinson hoping to replace the retiring Lonny Napper.

But in the councillor’s race, just four people had filed their papers for five spots on council by Tuesday.

In Enniskillen, the entire council have declared their candidacies, including Mayor Kevin Marriott. The cash crop farmer has has served on Enniskillen Township Council for the past 26 years, including seven years as deputy mayor and the last 11 years as Mayor. While he wants to continue serving the people of Enniskillen, Marriott also has his sites set on another run at the warden’s chair.

“After talking to some county counselors, they’re all like, ‘well, you have to run again, because that’s kind of been the standard in the past that, the warden goes for two terms. So I guess I felt some encouragement that way,” he says.

It’s likely Marriott will get the chance to represent Enniskillen at county council again since with three days left to file nomination papers, it appears the entire council will be acclaimed.

Four of five Oil Springs council members hope to be back on council – and its a pretty good shot they will be. Oil Springs acclaimed its council in 2018. So far, Ian Veen has filed papers to run for mayor again and incumbents Larry Wagner, Connie McFadden and Adam Veen have also re-upped. There is one newcomer here as well, Jason Newport. There are four councillor positions to fill.

In Dawn-Euphemia, there are a lot of familiar faces as the clock ticks away on nominations. Al Broad is the sole nominee for the mayor’s job. Current councillors Ann Gray, Jason Myer and Mark McGuire are also in the running. And a former councillor – Paul Leboeuf – has also tossed his hat into the ring.

East Lambton has a couple of interesting races with potential for new councillors and even a new mayor. In Brooke-Alvinston Incumbent Dave Ferguson faces a challenge from Incumbent Councillor Jamie Armstrong for the mayor’s chair.

Frank Nemcek and Jeannette Douglas also plan to run again. But there are a number of newcomers hoping to win a seat including Les Douglas, former NDP Candidate Vanessa Benoit, Craig Sanders and Jenny Redick have all filed nomination papers.

There’s also an election for mayor in Warwick where Incumbent Jackie Rombouts faces a challenge from former mayor Todd Case.

All the current members of council are looking to reclaim their seats, however there is also two newcomers and a former councillor in the fray. John Cowenburg has filed his papers as has newcomers Sharon Plunkett and Bill Davies.

In St. Clair, three people are hoping to fill the shoes left by the retiring Steve Arnold. Ward One – the former Moore Township – is a horse race with six people running for two positions. Just three people hope to fill the chairs of those in the former Sombra Township. And it appears Steve Miller will remain the deputy mayor.

Nominations close Friday at 2 pm.